Dark Legacy MUD Forum


Multi User Fantasy Text Game
It is currently Wed May 29, 2024 4:13 pm

All times are UTC





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Firewall
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:45 am 
Offline
Newbie
 Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Sooo... seems like the port for DL is blocked by the firm I'm having a practice at.

Now what? :?


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Firewall
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:56 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 418
Location: Atlanta, GA
Mihey wrote:
Sooo... seems like the port for DL is blocked by the firm I'm having a practice at.

Now what? :?


Chances are they block everything except web traffic. There's a few things you can try, but without access to certain services a lot of it won't work. Chances are, you shouldn't be playing DL at work anyways :)

_________________
Zeraphin Chan
Dark Angel of Balthildis


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
 Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Bummer :) its a practice, though, and I've found my work too easy I finish it too fast...


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:33 pm 
Offline
Dual-Avatar
 Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:03 pm
Posts: 489
Get a tunnel program that uses port 80...HTTP-Tunnel or something like that is one...hmm...hopster...forget the others.

_________________
Quintos Aelon, Progenitor of the Aelon line


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:14 am 
Offline
Newbie
 Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Tried the HTTP-Tunnel and hopster.

First one doesnt work with mud, whatever client I use (browser nor telnet), second one doesnt help either.

Meh... anything else?


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:44 pm 
Offline
Dual-Avatar
 Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:03 pm
Posts: 489
Did you remember to make sure the client is using it for the proxy?

_________________
Quintos Aelon, Progenitor of the Aelon line


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:42 am 
Offline
Avatar
 Profile

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 171
Proxy server could be an option.

You could, and I'm not sure what it would entail, try rigging your home puter to proxy for you. It's not like it'd be all that much bandwidth.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:52 am 
Offline
Newbie
 Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Eh, guess DL is not worth getting into trouble here at work, so... Too bad.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:01 am 
Offline
Newbie
 Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Erm...

Is there a chance of the java client using port 80? :roll:


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:51 am 
Offline
Avatar
 Profile

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 171
Dunno.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:12 am
Posts: 739
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
Mihey wrote:
Erm...

Is there a chance of the java client using port 80? :roll:


No :P

You could always install tightvnc on your home machine, set it up to run on port 80, and play using your machine at home. :P Not very fast, and wont work if they have a transparent caching proxy installed.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie
 Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 42
Gonna try that. Thanks.


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits