Dark Legacy MUD Forum


Multi User Fantasy Text Game
It is currently Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm

All times are UTC





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Request for help on computer issue
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 5:43 pm 
Offline
Caretaker
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 134
I am computer illiterate so please make any suggestions and answers simple.:)

Anyway my computer is randomly(for no apparent reason) rebooting itself. I can be playing a game, surfing the net, or just idle and it will happen.

I have run Spysweeper, NoAdaware, and Norton...found nothing.

I have checked if my fan is running, it is.

What next?

Thanks,
sardonyx


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:27 am 
Offline
Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 2:11 am
Posts: 814
Location: New Zealand
Check your power supply. Cords, power boxes etc. it could be your comp power supply is messed up. Is it a clean reboot (reboot screen) or just off and on?

_________________
Kiasyn Kelle


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:55 pm 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
If that not the problem and the power is on. You have to bring your computer to a locate computer repair place and ask for a C drive wipe. Have them Reinstall windows or linx (which ever your using) There is a known virus that reboot your computer over and over to keep you off your internet connection.

It sound like its a broken virus also. Which suppose to reboot the minute you log on to it. :D

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:11 pm 
Offline
Caretaker
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 134
Well here is an update on what I have tried.

I re-formatted and reinstalled windows xp from the cd that came with my computer. This did not fix it unfortunatly.

Could you explain a bit better Kia as to how I check my power supply stuff?

If this helps any the computer is a Dell Dimension 8200.

When it reboots itself it acts just like I had chosen to restart the computer. Shuts down all programs and then the Dell screen with choices to enter setup ect. I guess I would say a clean reboot?

Thanks for the help
Sardonyx


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:38 pm 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
That exactly how the virus is supposes to act like. You can’t completely uninstall windows program unfortunely. The C drive need to be wipe and then install windows. This would mean all your programs you have there would get erased. To completely reinstall windows. go to Buy Best and buy a Norton Ghost. Also ask the tech department on how to use it. With this kind of virus for windows and have to wipe out everything you have on C drive. If you have a support drive uses it. (An extra C drive converted to another letter an example: E drive.)
Anyways because the virus is in the reboot logged and saved each time you reboot. It’s impossible to be detected. Get about $75 dollars and ask a locate repair computer store to wipe out the C drive. They should know what you’re talking about.

Here is a little food for thoughts. From Windows 95 to windows xp. People have notices that the programs are getting bigger and bigger and the C drive is getting bigger. From 2 to 100 gigs maybe more next year. There is 1 feature in windows and all computers have in common. They have save "Files" no matter how big or small on your hard drive perm. So when you go to the same website it will be faster to reload it. In return you use space. Keep in mind your using space on your C drive. Now your C is lower on space ("memory" if that how you spell it) the people that use the computer the most and surf around the internet. Picture (jpg), Movies (avi), and yes even http://www.msn.com or yahoo.com and updates take up space on your computer. Now this is not a way to get a virus. Bill gates made computer to function this way. Because if people need more space on the hard drive. He’ll tell "the middle man" to make a computer with more gigs. Here a question to prove it.
Why does a laptop have just about the same hard drive space then a desktop and the size are different? Well I talk too much I know your problem will be solved with asking to wipe out everything on the C drive.

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:21 am 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 418
Location: Atlanta, GA
Just as information, as an IT specialist:

Zidane is almost 100% wrong.

_________________
Zeraphin Chan
Dark Angel of Balthildis


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:36 am 
Offline
Avatar
User avatar
 E-mail  Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:18 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Arizona
Computer repair shops rob you. Dont go to them. Its easy enough to learn.

_________________
Dourht Heavyaxe


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:43 pm 
Offline
Dual-Avatar
User avatar
 E-mail  YIM  Profile

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:16 pm
Posts: 377
Location: some where behind the washer
listen to zera and dourht, zidane is wrong


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:37 pm 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
Zeraphin wrote:
Just as information, as an IT specialist:

Zidane is almost 100% wrong.
From my person experience i would to a repair shop. i got my computer fix within 3 days. i didnt get rob. i did do a C wipe and gain alot more of my C drive. i got rid of all the unless programs i downloaded from the internet. i maybe be wrong on the virus part that agree. but its very effect to start off clean like a new computer. the repair shop i use was Best Buys
As a IT specialist zerphin no disc respect. what can you do to help on this issue beside a C wipe? if the anti-virus doesnt work and window keep rebooting? what are the options. i would like to know myself instead of spending money if it happens.

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:03 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 418
Location: Atlanta, GA
Oh, wiping the drive is 100% correct. That's why I said 99% wrong.

If she has the original install disks though, she should be able to do it herself. The install process is a lot simplier than it used to be, and other than clicking "Next" and "Finished", you pretty much just get asked to set the date and add your user.

The only technical part is setting up the partitions. You will want to "D"elete the existing one, and then re-"C"reate it. This will cause the installation to wipe it clean before continuing, rather than attempt to repair the existing install.

_________________
Zeraphin Chan
Dark Angel of Balthildis


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:15 pm 
Offline
Caretaker
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 134
I did that Zera, deleted old partition/reformatted new...then reinstalled windows from original cd. Unfortunatly I still get the random reboots. Some days i get 2 or 3...some every 10 minutes...some one on top of another. Everything shuts down and restarts as if I had used the proper commands. The fan is working and the computer parts inside do not feel overly hot to the touch. With my limited understanding of computers I am at a loss as to what else i can do.

thanks for the help,
Sardonyx


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:00 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:12 am
Posts: 739
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
Sardonyx wrote:
I did that Zera, deleted old partition/reformatted new...then reinstalled windows from original cd. Unfortunatly I still get the random reboots. Some days i get 2 or 3...some every 10 minutes...some one on top of another. Everything shuts down and restarts as if I had used the proper commands. The fan is working and the computer parts inside do not feel overly hot to the touch. With my limited understanding of computers I am at a loss as to what else i can do.


How old is your computer? Could be your aging power unit is unable to handle sudden fluctuations in power, they get less effective over time.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:49 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 418
Location: Atlanta, GA
The power supply failing should result in crashes, not a clean shutdown.

Is there anything wrong with the power switch?

Try going to Control Panel, Power Settings. These are the options that MIGHT cause Windows to shutdown on its own. One of the panels will let you decide what happens when the power button is pushed. You might consider changing it to "Ask me what to do".

Then if the question pops up on the screen, you'll know something is going on with the switch.

_________________
Zeraphin Chan
Dark Angel of Balthildis


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:07 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:12 am
Posts: 739
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
Zeraphin wrote:
The power supply failing should result in crashes, not a clean shutdown.


Didn't read that bit, thought it rebooted spontaneously. Wheee.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:03 pm 
Offline
Caretaker
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 134
I did what you said by checking "ask me what to do". It still reboots on its own. Maybe I am just describing it incorrectly. Now I have gotten a couple times it says I need to send an error report after it comes back up. I appreciate everyone's help but looks like I'm just gonna have to live with it heh. The computer is around 6ish years old(i lose track of time easily) It is a Dell Dimension 8200.

Sardonyx


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:28 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 418
Location: Atlanta, GA
It sounds like some component is failing. Like you said, its 6 years old. A number of parts may be going faulty at this point.

_________________
Zeraphin Chan
Dark Angel of Balthildis


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:36 am 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
i think your making it a mission to "Do it yourself". i wish i can help you better. The only reason you have a reboot whenever it wants its because the prog or virus is on the reboot.log (which can change its name depending what programs you have on your CPU). i dont think im 99% wrong zeraphin. she tryed everything she able to do. when i have a problem like this, i just use repair shops. its quick and easy and stress free. when i pickup my computer at any reapir shop. i feel i just brought a new computer. Beside with all the new cool stuff to get with upgrades i dont mine. 8)
Sardonyx trust me on this one. bring it to best buys or office depot to fix the program. You might want to upgrade the comupter anyways. why not be stress free and have someone to repair it for you? sure its cost a little money but hell having your computer back is what important.
Am i right?
P.S. Hope to see you online with the problem solve :D
:twisted: stop looking like my cat below here

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:37 am 
Offline
Avatar
User avatar
 E-mail  Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:18 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Arizona
If your computer is 6 years old its just better to go buy one imo, rather than try to fix is existing problem. Just dont listen to Zidane.

_________________
Dourht Heavyaxe


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:04 pm 
Offline
Arch-Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 am
Posts: 418
Location: Atlanta, GA
Viruses do not survive deleting the partition and formatting, which she has done.

_________________
Zeraphin Chan
Dark Angel of Balthildis


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:40 am 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
not true virus can be a simple program. 8)

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:33 am 
Offline
Caretaker
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 2:11 am
Posts: 814
Location: New Zealand
Formatting clears everything in the partition. Nothing left. No programs. No files. *NOTHING*. Empty space.

_________________
Kiasyn Kelle


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:23 pm 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
even tho i might be wrong about the virus. its still doesn't fix the reboots problem. Let not focus weather or not she has a virus. But to solve the problem that she has. disagreeing is not solving Sardonyx problem. :wink:

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:56 pm 
Offline
Avatar
User avatar
 E-mail  Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:18 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Arizona
Yes we know Zidane. You're wrong about everything. But you have no idea whatsoever you are talking about, so its best that you dont help at all.

_________________
Dourht Heavyaxe


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:09 am 
Offline
Tri-Avatar
User avatar
 WWW  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 560
Location: florida
i believe your that stupid Dourht. you did nothing to help on the issue. keep your 2 cent to yourself.
As for sardonyx i hope your problem is already solved.

_________________
Dr. Zidane of The Forsaken


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:14 pm 
Offline
Caretaker
 Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 134
Thanks for the help. Unfortunatly it looks like because of the age of my computer I am stuck with the unresolved problem until I get a windfall to buy a new one heh.

Sardonyx


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits